honoring Christ in death


How do we honor Christ in death?

Paul tells us in [Philippians 1:21.] He says in sum, ” I expect and hope to honor Christ in my body in death . . . for to me to die is gain.” In other words, if i can experience death as gain, my death will honor Christ. We can see here how Paul’s mind is working. The honor and all-satisfying worth of Christ is reflected in my dying to the degree that in my soul I am not begrudging the loss of all my earthly things and relations but am counting Christ as so superior that death is all gain. The assumption – which he makes clear in verse 23 – is that death means a closer intimacy with Christ. In verse 23, he says, “My desire is to depart and be with Christ, for that is far better.” So the reason death is gain is that it brings a better experience of Christ. The exegetical conclusion then is that savoring Christ above all that we lose in death magnifies the worth of Christ. The degree to which we are satisfied in him as we die is the degree to which he is honored as we die. He is most glorified in us when we are most satisfied in him – in life and death.

John Piper, Let the Nations Be Glad, p. 226

About hypkip

married, follower of Jesus, teacher of the Holy Book View all posts by hypkip

Leave a Reply

