contentment


When thy Son, Jesus, came into my soul instead of sin
he became more dear to me than sin had formerly been;
his kindly rule replaced sin’s tyranny.

Teach me to believe that if ever I would have any sin subdued
I must not only labour to overcome it,
but must invite Christ to abide in the place of it,
and he must become to me more than vile lust had been;
that his sweetness, power, life may be there.
This I must seek a grace from him contrary to sin,
but must not claim it apart from himself.

The Valley of Vision, A Collection of Puritan Prayers & Devotions, p. 153
Edited by Arthur Bennett

About hypkip

married, follower of Jesus, teacher of the Holy Book View all posts by hypkip

Leave a Reply

